Each planet has its representative deity and its specific form. Each deity has a certain color, particular appearance, a unique vehicle (the animal it rides, signifying its underlining power). All the planetary deities are regarded as male. This is because all the signs and constellation are regarded as female. The planets are the forces (male), which work in the fields of signs (female). Planetary deities also have their ruling deities (Adhidevta) and their overlords (Pratyadhidevta). These may be male of female according to the nature of the planets.

Worship of Planetary Deities
Name Ruling Deity Over Ruler Deity Worshipped Vehicle
The Sun Agni, God of Fire Shiva, The Great God Shiva 7-Headed Horse
The Moon Apas, Water Goddess Parvati, The Great Goddess Durga Deer
Mars Bhumi, Earth Goddess Skanda, War God Hanumaan Goat
Mercury Vishnu, The Maintainer Narayana, another form of Vishnu Vishnu Lion (with trunk)
Jupiter Indra, The king of the Gods Brahma, The Creator Vishnu Elephant
Venus Indrani, Queen of the Gods Indra, King of the Gods Durga Horse
Saturn Yama, God of Death Prajapati Hanumaan Ox
Rahu Durga, Goddess of Power Sapra, The serpent God Shiva Lion
Ketu Chitragupta, God of Karma Brahma, God of Knowledge Shiva Serpent

Click here to know more about different Vedic Rituals